Weight Loss

I lost 2.2 pounds this week! I am .4 pounds away from my birthday goal weight. And I am about to hit my 10% weight loss goal or 30 pounds! Hell Yeah! I am so excited. I am still very heavy but when I started this journey the end of March this year I weighted 304.2 pounds. My heaviest to date. I can’t believe I got so big. When I tried to lose weight before it wouldn’t work. I don’t know what was different about this time except maybe I’m not stressing over it and I eat when I’m hungry without worring about it. I don’t live on rabbit food or eat like a bird either.

When I started this journey I joined weight watchers. I had been trying on my own for so long but just couldn’t get it. So, I decided I needed help. I joined online and started the program. One of the things I really liked about the weight watchers program was I didn’t have to buy their food and I was still basically cooking my own food at home, with some slight changes. I tried to attend the meetings but they just weren’t for me. I got real serious about this weight loss journey and started researching and learning. Eventually, after about 2 or 3 months I realized I was doing all of it on my own. There really wasn’t much that the weight watchers program was helping me with. I would just use the online points tracker, which did teach me about portion control and balance, but I had picked that up pretty well. I wasn’t using the program for anyting else and just the points tracker was not worth $40 a month. So, I dropped the program, but not the way I was eating. I still watch my portions and try to balance as well as I can and listen to my body(which I don’t always do). If I’m hungry I eat. I just make sure it isn’t junk. If I’m hungry at 8 or 9 at night I eat a small snack. If my body tells me I’m hungry I eat, period. I just eat more fruits and veggies and cut down on portions. Some days I eat every 2 or 3 hours but I’m fine with that. Cause its small portions and if my body needs  it, it needs it. Food is there to help us survive. We need it for nourishment. So, I nourish my body when ever it calls for it.

I also exercise. Not too much, but more than I use to. I didn’t use to do anything. But when I started this journey I got was all ready for exercise and movement, I wanted it so bad. I bought researched for the a good, inexpensive exercise program/game for the Wii or PS3 and found EA Active2. I got a stability ball, arm weights, a thigh master and boxing gear. I also walked nightly. I started out exercising 2 or 3 times a day for about 15 minutes each time. If I wasn’t able to do a workout I would beat myself up for it. If I ate too much for dinner I would beat myself up for it and workout harder or push myself and walk farther than I had before. I noticed that when I did this, I would lose less. But if I just relax and exercise at least once a day for about 20 to 30 minutes and not beat myself up if I missed one, I did a lot better on weight ins. Weird. But its how my body reacted.

I also quit stressing over “cheat points”. Which is part of the weight watcher program. I still out, I still eat pizza, corny dogs, chips. But I do it on occassion and when I do I eat less than I use to. As long as I work in my fruit and veggies and eat good most of the time my body is happy. I just have to be aware of portions, listen to my body, and relax. Just let it happen.

I am just so happy how my body has changed so much. I know it might seem like 5 months is a long time to some people to only lose 30 pounds(averaging), but I am happy I am losing. I have also lost several inches and dropped about 1 1/2 pants sizes and a few shirt sizes. My ultimate goal is not to be thin, but to be healthy. Period. And if that means I top out at 200 or if I lose down to 120(which is my weight average for my height…5 ft. 2in) I will be happy as long as I’m healthy.

 

Top picture is me in April of 2010. A year before starting my new journey.

This was taken at the zoo this year. April 2011.

And this one was taken July 2011. After hubby finally said I needed new clothes and wouldn’t take no for an answer. Besides my capris were so big they were falling off me. I had to wear a belt with them. I’ve lost more since this picture was taken.

 

I still may be a large woman, but Im less of that large woman I use to be, I’m healthier and I’m happier. And as long my boys still love me and hubby is still attracted thats all that matters. 😛

Leave a Reply

