Home school Mother’s Journal

 

In my life this week…

Hubby is on vacation this week. I wasn’t prepared for him to take a vacation, so the kids are still doing lessons and we aren’t going anywhere. Its a stay cation

In our homeschool this week…

The boys are learning about Arizona this week. This is where their daddy was born.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

Troop committee meeting tonight before the Troop meeting, Friday I have my yearly doctor appointment.

My favorite thing this week was…

I got so much work done yesturday and am hoping to do the same today.

What’s working/not working for us…

My youngest is learning to take notes, write sentences, etc. He reads ok, not great, but ok. I have thought for a while he was skipping through a lot of is reading and just choosing a sentence and writing it for his notes. I was right. The only reason he has to take notes is to help him rememeber what he read and to show me that he did actually read. Well, even thats not working now. So, today I had him read in the kitchen, out of his room, where he normally does his work. Even that didn’t work. He said he read 2 chapters in like 2 minutes. So, I had to have him sit in front of me and read out loud. Its been a little over 5 minutes and he just finished 1 chapter. I think he finally sees I’m not giving in and he has to do his work.

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

I wonder what other parents do with a child who doesn’t read very well and says they read their assigned chapters, but aren’t really reading.

Leave a Reply

