A Simple Woman’s Day Book

Outside my window….

It is a really, really hot day!

I am thinking…

About my to do list. This is supposed to be our week off lessons ad I’m more busy than a regular week.

Around my house…

My oldest is playing Age of Empires and my youngest is watching National Treasure

I am reading…

Feast of Fools by Rachel Caine

I am hoping…

I can complete my to do list and still have down time this week 

New creations from the kitchen…

I just finished breakfast burritos for the kids freezer breakfasts. Tonight I’m gonna attempt to make beef & broccoli.

In my life this week…

I started off the week all calm and relaxed. But by Tuesday night that was shot. Scouts stressed me out. My oldest was elected to OA for Boy Scouts. It’s an honor society for Boy Scouts. But they don’t really do anything special. Their ceremonies are more Native American, but other than that they camp occasionally and do service projects occasionally. He already does that in Boy Scouts. Its gonna cost us $40 for him join and $10 a year for membership for the same thing (actually less activities) than what he’s doing in the troop right now.  And its with people I don’t know. I don’t care if they are registered leaders with BSA, that means nothing to me. I’ve met a lot of registered leaders and don’t know how they are even allowed in scouts. My son is very easy-going and doesn’t care one way or the other. I am leaning more towards, whats the point?  By January he should start working on his Eagle Rank and be enrolled in Boy Scouts and Venturing. Why does he need something else that he doesn’t have the time for and we don’t have the money for? *sigh*

Adventures in homeschooling…

I have most the lessons planned for next week, with the exception of Geography. I actually have them planned for the next 3 weeks, even copies printed. The boys are slowly getting into the Great Depression, Industrial Revolution and WW1. But they’ve only been on this topic 1 week.

The rest of the lessons are going well.

What’s working/not working for us…

We are trying to give the kids “real” allowance. We we’re using fake money that we made for them to purchase things that we picked up at yard sales for them and such. We had a family store. But with them getting older and both are now in scouts we are trying real money. But they have to pa their own monthly dues, and gas money needed when they go camping (usually $3) and they have to cover half the cost of any scout supplies they want. We will cover the other half of scout supplies and any food needed for camping. They need to learn how expensive it is to keep them in scouts. The rest of their allowance is theres. But they are not allowed to just blow it on candy and junk. I don’t allow that in the house, except special occasions.  But if they want a DS game or something like that they need to tell us what it is and then they have to save up for it and have the amount needed plus tax before we will take them to the store to purchase it. Hopefully they will learn how valuable money is and it shouldn’t be spent frivolously.

 

Leave a Reply

