Home school Mother’s Journal

In my life this week…

I have been working hard all week trying to switch the kid lessons from Classical to Charlotte Mason style…not an easy task

In our homeschool this week…

The kids finished up the Industrial Revolution, great depression & WW1…we did these topics in 5 weeks and it feels like it flew by. It doesn’t feel, to me, that the boys had enough time on the topic. I wish I had stretched it further. But htenext topic…WW2 will be 6 weeks long.  

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

We didn’t have any hs field trips or visitors this week. We don’t do a lot of hs field trips because the boys are older and most field trips are planned by parents with younger children.

My favorite thing this week was…

Working on a new hs style that will hopefully help my youngest and work more with his special style of learning. 

What’s working/not working for us…

OMG, my printer I’ve had a few years has decided to start acting up…Its a Dell V305W, copier, scanner & printer. It has worked wonderfully up until this week. The sensor that reads the ink cartridge stopped reading it. I took out the cartridge that wasn’t empty and put in two new ones before it would register. (They are refilled cartridges, but I have used refilled almost a year now and they have worked fine) The printer wrked fone for a day or two now its not reading it again. I don’t think its the sensor on the cartridge, I think its the printer. I’ve had it probably 3 years. *sign* so I guess im printer sopping this weekend. Gotta have it before Sunday so I can spend Sunday printing their lessons.

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

Am I doing the right thing by my youngest? I know hs is right for him, but I just hope by me not pushing him or forcing a certain curriuclum or a certain amount of work on him is helping him, not hurting him. I worry about him learning enough, but if I try to force anything he shuts down. I’m trying to find the best way he can learn. But he would be considred behind in spelling, writing & reading. (Not by hs stndards, but my everyone else)

Leave a Reply

