A Simple Woman’s Day Book

Outside my window….

It looks like its gonna be a nice day…

I am thinking…

I  am stressing over hubbys job. You would think him advancing in his career would be a good thing, and it is, but its also not. Its causing us a lot of stress. Hubby is a mechanic, he has worked at  the same dealership for at least 6 years. He started in detail (only there about 6 months or so), then was promoted to Express Lube, where he changed oil, roated tires, minor mechanic stuff. While he was there he has taken 2 automotive classes. He has always been interested in moving up and learning more. He was given that chance. He was moved to the service side, that does the big mechanic stuff. He is even gonna attempt his first ASE test this weekend. (Big time mechanic test) This is all good so far, but he is still working at an hourly rate. The other mechanics in service work flag, meaning they get paid per job. Which is a chance for hubby to earn more. BUT, (heres where it gets stressful) we don’t know what he will get paid when he goes flag. If he gets a $3 raise, thats great (biggest one yet) BUT with hours he has run since he’s been in service, and compared to the other mechanics hours, a $3 raise won’t be enough. If he gets paid per job, and we figure up the hours he will run he will be getting a MUCH smaller check. At least $200 (sometimes more) than what he’s bringing home right now.  We can’t live on that. So, he’d have to get a really big raise for us to at least keep the checks the same. (But mechanics do make a lot more than what he’s making now.) I just don’t know how big of a raise he will get.  Also if he gets any kind of raise we will be most likely be cut off food stamps, which is a good and bad thing. Hubby has been working really hard to slowly wing us off food stamps over the years, but if he gets at least a $3 raise DHS will most likely cut us off, but hubby’s checks won’t be enough to cover it. And then the kids get medical through DHS, I don’t know what the cut off is for that either.  Hubby has insurance through his work right now, that we can’t afford to even use. Its Blue Cross, and if it wasn’t for the state covering most of the monthly payments we wouldn’t even have that.  They want about $800 a month for me and hubby and about $1000 if we have to add the kids. If his raise is high enough to cut us off food stamps and the kids medical we will most likely lose the state assistance on our medical. Theres no way we can afford $800 or even $1000 a month for insurance. And if hubby’s raise kicks out assistance, but his bring home is less, we’re screwed! We just don’t know whats gonna happen. This is new territory for us. Hubby even said he would get an evening job if he had too, which makes me feel like shit. I stay at home. For several reasons. Our life is good right now. I teach the boys, I cook, I clean, run the house, and so much more. If his checks are lower and he really starts looking for a second job that will cause us all knds of stress in the home and with our relationship. I hear about stay at home moms having to get a job, and some stop homeschooling too. We make sacrifices for me to stay home and have made it so far, I don’t want things to change that now. At least not for the worst.

Around my house…

Youngest is outside watering the plants and flowers in the front yard. Oldest is in his room studying for his quizes today.

I am reading…

Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood. Its a slow start, hoping it picks up soon.

I am hoping…

That hubby passes his ASE test this weekend, and things change only for the better…

New creations from the kitchen…

Tried a new No Bake (homemade) cheesecake recipe this week. It was supper yummy!

In my life this week…

Took the kids to their troop meeting, scouts can really be stressful. Scout master brought up a camping opportunity for the troop, but didn’t have all the info. I went online and got all the info. Now, I have unofficially taken over getting a head count and getting the troop registered to attend. *sigh* This might seem like an easy task but its so not.

This year we did something different for Samhain. Instead of driving around the neighborhoods taking the kids trick or treating, we stayed home. The boys trick or treated the neighborhood fr about an hour and a half, then Eric passed out candy while John sat in the tree in the front yard making scary noises and shaking the tree. It was peaceful, non stressful and a very nice evening.

Adventures in homeschooling…

Lessons are going good, Eric complains some, but only because he’d rather be watching a movie.  A few more weeks on WW2, then we study Africa.

What’s working/not working for us…

Eric has an attitude lately. Back talking, using ugly words, argueing with hubby and I, more than usual.  His mouth has gotten pretty bad. I have spanked his butt 3 days in a row this week. Hubby says I let him get away with too much in between the spankings. I don’t like to spank, but I don’t know what else to do with him sometimes. I have tried lots of different things. Nothing seems to phase him like an old fashioned spanking. *sigh*  I feel so bad about it too, I don’t want to be the bad parent. But i feel like I’m always getting onto him.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

  Eric is the scream person and John is a Zombie.

Leave a Reply

