A Simple Woman’s Day Book

Outside my window….

It looks like its going to be a nice day…not too hot, not too cold

I am thinking…

About my son’s behavior, changing the kids lesson schedules up and just making changes in general.

Around my house…

My youngest is in his room reading, while he wakes up. Oldest is on the computer working on lessons.

I am reading…

Prized by Caragh M. O’Brien. Its book 2 in the Birthmarked series. The first one, Birthmarked,  took a bit to get through, but towards the end it really picked up. Prized is great from the beginning.

I am hoping…

That my youngest changes his attitude soon, and I can work out a new lessons schedule before Monday.

New creations from the kitchen…

I am not stressing over meals, making thing from scratch or any of that. I fix normal meals, yes some are boxed. Nothing seems to be effecting me or working for the family with food & exercise. We all weighted less when I fixed cheap boxed meals and didn’t eat so great. So, fuck it. I’m tired of stressing over it. We’ll eat what sounds good, with moderation and have a normal healthy amount of exercise in our lives an just let it go from there.

In my life this week…

My youngest has had an attitude lately and he’s only 11 years old. It was time to make some changes. I finally agreed to do what my husband suggested years ago. We cleared out Eric’s room completely, including furniture. We agreed he needed a new bed because his futon bunk bed was too big for his room and wearing out. He needs a much smaller bed. He needs a bigger desk. But if the desk goes the dresser needs to go with it, since it matches. So, now we are on the hunt for a twin size bed, dresser and desk. Anyways, Eric is also a pack rat. He would keep crafts for “what if” projects and scraps of random paper because he liked it. So, once we filled the game room table, floor & some of my office floor with all his stuff we started going through it. I threw away almost 6 or 7 bags of just trash, he gave up all but 14 stuffed animals (he had way more) we donated at least a trash bag & a half, not including the giant bear, dog bone pillow & other HUGE pillow he gave up. Then we filled the entire back of our expedition with stuff to donate to Goodwill. We sold a few things, like his bed, dresser, desk, Huge Castle Playset, Large Lot of KNEX, Leather pieces for leather working,  a big tool box with some tools (he doesn’t use) and few other things.  He was allowed to keep a few small crafting items he would use for lessons, but those are now in hall in an organizational shelf, and he is allowed to keep his model stuff, scrapbooking items, stick on tattoos, bracelet making kit, lanyard (he makes key chains), play dough and metal art kit. He is only allowed 2 or 3 craft kits at a time. He has to use them before he is allowed to get anymore. Right now he has 2 shelves in his room, a small desk hubby &  I  made for him a while back (but its too small for him to use for too long) and his TV stand.  He is also grounded for a few days. No sleepovers, no movies, XBOX, or computer (Except for lessons) and no board games. He also has to stay in his room. Seems harsh but if hubby and I don’t get a handle on him now it will be way worse when he gets older. (And it was way more than an attitude that lead us here)

What’s working/not working for us…

Eric’s behavior has so not been working. I have had to be tough momma this week an put my foot down. I hate tough momma.

Leave a Reply

